Large Areas of the South East to enter Tier 3 Measures

Posted on: 17 December 2020

The Health Secretary Matt Hancock has announced that in the UK, and across the world, coronavirus cases are rising once more.

“No one wants tougher restrictions any longer than necessary,” he says, adding that where they are necessary they will be put in place to help ease pressure on the National Health Service.

He says cases are up 46% in the past week in the south-east of England and up by two-thirds in the east of England.

He confirms that from 00:01 Saturday 19 December – the following areas will be placed into tier three:

  • Bedfordshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Berkshire
  • Peterborough
  • The whole of Hertfordshire
  • Surrey, except Waverley
  • Hastings and Rother
  • Portsmouth, Gosport and Havant

All museums and indoor heritage attractions in these areas must close from the 19 December.

Find out about the restrictions applicable in Tier 3.

BBC postcode checker tool.

Accessibility Options

The following options may make it easier for you to use this website

Change the contrast of colours and text

Change the size of the size of the text

Toggle the display of images