News & Opportunities

Back to list

English Heritage

English Heritage is to be split into two organisations from 1st April 2015, it was announced by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport on 14th October 2014.

In a press statement released by DCMS, it was confirmed that a new charity retaining the name English Heritage will run the National Heritage Collection of 420 historic sites and monuments (remaining in public ownership), while a second non-departmental public body, Historic England, will continue to advise government on planning and heritage protection matters.

Regarding English Heritage, Ed Vaizey MP, Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy, has confirmed that the Government will provide additional funding of £88.5m to invest in the National Heritage Collection. It is intended that £80m of the funding will act as capital investment to restore and present the properties, while also helping to create jobs, stimulate local economies, and boost the heritage workforce. The remaining £8.5 million has been allocated to fund the implementation of the new structure of the Charity. A summary of the business plan for the English Heritage Charity, which anticipates the charity financially breaking even  in 2022-23, has also been agreed by Government and published.

The newly-named non-departmental public body, Historic England, will be dedicated to offering expert advice, championing the wider historic environment and providing support for stakeholders in the heritage sector. Under the new body, DCMS has confirmed that there will be no changes to the current duties and powers it provides in planning and heritage protection. DCMS has also published a draft of Historic England's Corporate Plan alongside a call for views here.

Announced last year in the 2013 Spending Round, the proposal to split the two organisations was subject to large consultation throughout the heritage sector and beyond. You can see the responses from the independent heritage sector on the The Heritage Alliance website.